Greasy but Delicious

As much as I love a nice, well prepared meal, sometimes the only thing that will hit the spot is some greasy, artery clogging, fast-food style junk. Last night was one of those nights, and here’s the very special sandwich that I wolfed down at the wrong hour of the night, a little too quickly, with a nice cold beer to round things out…
It’s always important to have one’s mise en place

20111209-083542.jpg
And here’s the play-by-play–

20111209-083755.jpg

20111209-083903.jpg
You see all the fat that has rendered out? Delicious…!

20111209-084136.jpg
Yup. I didn’t drain out any of the fat… I sautéed the peppers and onions in it! Circle of life, my friends…
After the onions and peppers started to brown a little, I deglazed the pan with about half a bottle of Shiner Bach–

20111209-084324.jpg
then added the sausage back into the pan until most of the beer cooked out

20111209-084605.jpg
took this whole mess of fatty goodness, tossed it on a toasted piece of French bread, topped it with a hit of marinara sauce, and ignored all the grease that dripped out of the sandwich as I tried to eat it slowly, something I failed at, miserably.

20111209-113350.jpg

What’s your favorite guilty food pleasure?

Oh, I almost forgot.

It seems that I’ve been “nominated” (read: registered myself) for a contest for the best kosher food blog of 2011, at The Joy of Kosher website. Check it out and let me know what you think!

About ydmalka

Just sharing my experiences as I learn more about kosher cuisine, from non-kosher cookbooks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

