Preparing for something new… and a giveaway!

Maybe it’s all of this beautiful weather we’ve been having lately, or maybe it was this great day I spent with my son at the (completely empty!) pool, but I’m feeling supremely relaxed right now. Which is fantastic timing, because I’ve got a ton of self-imposed, overly ambitious work coming up. Details about that little adventure are forthcoming, over the course of the following week, or so. It’s gonna be a fun read. Trust me.

In the meantime, I’ve been thinking. So far, I’ve shared a couple of my adventurous, Kosher experiences with you, and I plan on keeping you glued to the edge of your seat for more. But that got me wondering about all you guys out there, my millions of readers and admirers (right!).

I have two questions that I hope you can answer for me:

1. What was the most incredible, adventurous, or otherwise memorable plate of kosher food you ever ate?

2. Name one food, cuisine or restaurant that intrigues you, but you haven’t yet tried. (OK, this one wasn’t exactly formatted as a question, but you get the idea)

I would love to hear from all of you out there. So much so, that the first thirty people to respond either on the wall of our new Facebook page, or in the comment section here, will be entered into a drawing to win…….

A brand new copy of the beautiful Alinea cookbook!

And be sure to check out the CrazyTastyKosher Facebook page for a second, fantastic giveaway!

Hope you’re having a great summer!

–Yehuda

About ydmalka

Just sharing my experiences as I learn more about kosher cuisine, from non-kosher cookbooks.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preparing for something new… and a giveaway!

  1. Avraham Malka says:

    1) an appetizer of fresh peas and eggs soaked in oil, any soup of your choice served in “the big bowl”, with a main of broiled chicken and linguini, followed by a refreshing dessert which I can’t exactly remember the name but I know that there is a “poop” somewhere in there. [These foods were a staple of our childhood diet, for those of you who never ate over–Yehuda]
    2) chilled monkeys brains [did I forget to specify that the food should be Kosher?–Yehuda]

  2. Josh says:

    1. Most memorable plate of food: It was a single plate. But 9 dishes were put on it in sequence. It was a restaurant in Jerusalem owned by a South African guy. Don’t remember the name. But they brought you 1 by 1 different meat dishes to try. Then it was all you can eat of whatever you liked the best.

    2. I need to try African food sometime. Somewhere deep in tribal Africa like Kenya or Uganda.

  3. Hey there, it was nice meeting you the other day at the sheva b’rachos, and welcome to the blogosphere, specifically the kosher blogosphere, and especially those run by men, under 30, i think we’re in the rare

    1) favorite kosher dish? really hard to say, I suck at answering those: “what’s your favorite..” type of questions. there are desserts, and mains. and even with mains, there is dairy, meat….oh man, it’s a fast day and this is not good for me….although I guess I do have to answer the question right? Best kosher dish probably was the prime rib at pomegranate bistro…it was incredible

    2) I’ve always wanted to try the whole “charcuterie” thing…making my own sausages, and curing meats, and that sort of thing…maybe one day, when I have the finances, and the space to store the equipment

    keep up the good work

  4. Shua Bier says:

    1) Most memorable plate of food: at an Isreali old lady’s house (i knew her previously, i didn’t just wander in off the street) she served couscous, with a wonderful stew smothering the couscous into a mushy mess of yummy. the stew had similar ingridients to modern ashkenazi chicken soup, but much thicker and bolder.

    2) my wife’s morrocan grandmother has an entire cookbook of wonderful morrocan food, and the only thing stopping me from trying any of it is that i don’t know spanish, and i’m too lazy to get it translated

  5. Ari Katz says:

    Best kosher food- Huge and awesome greasy, spicy, flavorful chutney of lamb schwarma, colorful salad, tehina, Hummus, charif, and oily eggplant at Jerusalem BBQ near the shuk.

    Best food (before my BT days)- Tandoori Chicken, Saag, Daal, Lamb in some awesome sauce, eggplant stuff, and fried veggies.

Leave a Reply

